Hodges, Maris and Miñoso in Hall of Fame Committee ballot

COOPERSTOWN, NY (AP) – Gil Hodges, Roger Maris and Minnie Miñoso are among 10 men on the Golden Days Era committee ballot for the Baseball Hall of Fame.

Dick Allen, Ken Boyer, Jim Kaat, Tony Oliva, Billy Pierce and Maury Wills are also on the ballot with former Pittsburgh manager Danny Murtaugh, the Hall said on Friday.

The vote of the 16-person committee, whose members will be announced at a later date, is scheduled for December 5 at the winter meetings in Orlando, Florida. Its ballot considers players whose main contributions were from 1950-69.

A separate committee of 16 early in the baseball era will also meet to review pre-1950 candidates. Its ballot includes seven Black League players: John Donaldson, Bud Fowler, Vic Harris, Grant “Home Run Johnson, Buck O’Neil, Dick “Cannonball” Redding and George Scales.

They are joined by Bill Dahlen, Lefty O’Doul, Allie Reynolds and George Scales.

To be elected to either committee, a candidate must appear on at least 75% of the ballots.

Anyone elected will be inducted into Cooperstown on July 24 along with all players elected by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America, whose ballot will be announced on January 25. Early BBWAA voters include David Ortiz, Ryan Howard, Tim Lincecum and Alex Rodriguez.

Steroid-contaminated stars Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens will be on the BBWAA ballot for the last time.

Hodges, an eight-time All-Star first baseman for the Dodgers and manager of the 1969 World Series champions New York Mets, received 63.4% of the ballots in 1983, falling to 44 votes short of being elected during his last appearance on the BBWAA ballot.

Maris, a two-time AL MVP who hit 61 home runs in 1961 to break Babe Ruth’s single-season record, received 43.1% in his last BBWAA poll appearance in 1988.

Miñoso peaked at 20.9% in his second appearance in the BBWAA poll in 1986. He got just 14.7% in his last appearance in 1999.

Candidates for the opening days of voting were chosen by a special baseball review committee made up of five black league historians – Gary Ashwill, Adrian Burgos Jr., Phil Dixon, Leslie Heaphy and Claire Smith – and five members of BBWAA who participated in the historical preview of the Hall. committee: Jim Henneman, Steve Hirdt, Rick Hummel, Jim Reeves and Glenn Schwarz.

Candidates for the Golden Age vote were selected by Henneman, Hirdt, Hummel, Reeves, Schwarz, Bob Elliott, Dave O’Brien, Jack O’Connell, Tracy Ringolsby, Susan Slusser and Mark Whicker.

The Today’s Gaming Committee (1988-present) will review nominations in December 2022 and the Modern Baseball Committee (1970-87) will meet in December 2023.

Source link

Previous Can Flixbus save Greyhound? | Scott Beyer
Next The United States must now separate from China: Peter Navarro