Four-time NBA champion Manu Ginobili, WNBA legends Swin Cash and Lindsay Whalen among Naismith Hall of Fame finalists

CLEVELAND – San Antonio Spurs legend and four-time NBA champion Manu Ginobili and WNBA legends Swin Cash and Lindsay Whalen headlined the 11 North American and Women’s Committee finalists for the Class of 2022 from Naismith Hall of Fame.

The other eight finalists were: former Los Angeles Laker Michael Cooper; former Milwaukee Bucks forward Marques Johnson; longtime NBA referee Hugh Evans; longtime college coach Bob Huggins; longtime NBA coach George Karl; Women’s varsity and WNBA coach Marianne Stanley; five-time All-Star Tim Hardaway; and Texas Girls’ High School Basketball Coach Leta Andrews.

Ginobili – one of two people, along with Hall of Famer Bill Bradley, to win a Euroleague title, an NBA title and a gold medal – has become one of the faces of the Spurs dynasty, alongside the Hall of Famer Tim Duncan and future Hall of Famer Tony Parker won gold with Argentina in 2004 and a bronze in 2008. His willingness to leave the bench for most of his career helped turn San Antonio’s second units into devastating weapons.

Cash won three NBA championships, two NCAA championships and two Olympic gold medals before being named one of the WNBA Top 20 Players of All Time in 2016. She was also a two-time All-Star Game MVP and a four-time -All-Star time. Whalen was a four-time WNBA champion with the Minnesota Lynx and a two-time Olympic gold medalist, making five All-Star Teams and three WNBA First Teams during her 15-year career with the Connecticut Sun and Lynx.

Cooper was one of the defensive mainstays of the great Lakers teams of the 1980s, winning five NBA championships while earning five All-Defensive Team nods and the league’s Defensive Player of the Year award in 1987 Johnson made five All-Star teams with the Bucks. , and won a national championship during his college career at UCLA, while Evans served as an NBA referee for 28 years, a run that saw him referee 170 playoff games, 35 NBA Finals games the NBA and four NBA All-Star Games.

Hardaway was a five-time All-Star and Olympic gold medalist whose signature crossover devastated opponents throughout his 13 NBA seasons, primarily with the Golden State Warriors and Miami Heat. Karl has the sixth most wins of any NBA coach, 1,175, and made the NBA Finals with the Seattle Supersonics in 1996 – one of six in his 27 seasons as a coach. NBA coach. Huggins has coached at Cincinnati, Kansas State and West Virginia, is one of six Division I coaches to win at least 900 games and made the Final Four in 1992 and 2010.

Stanley, currently the coach of the WNBA’s Indiana Fever, won a college national championship at Old Dominion in 1985, then coached at Penn, USC, Stanford and Cal. And Andrews spent 51 years coaching women’s high school teams in Texas, scoring 1,416 wins — the most of any high school coach, male or female, of all time.

The Class of 2022 will be officially unveiled on April 2 in New Orleans during the Final Four, and will be dedicated in the Hall on September 10 in Springfield, Massachusetts.

Previous LA Tourism Board partners with Obey and House Industries
Next Covid-19 cases, mask mandates and vaccine news: live updates